CESAR's Team

Director, CESAR Initiative

David B. Layzell, PhD, FRSC

Professor and Director, Canadian Energy Systems Analysis Research (CESAR) Initiative, University of Calgary

(403) 220-5161 | (403) 289-9311 | dlayzell@ucalgary.ca

Senior Associates and Associates

Ralph Torrie

Senior Associate, CESAR, and President, Torrie Smith Associates

Song P. Sit, PhD, PEng

Senior Associate, CESAR, and Principal, GHG Reduction Consultancy

song.sit@ucalgary.ca

Robert Hoffman, MA (Economics)

Senior Associate, CESAR, and President, whatIf? Technologies Inc.

(613) 232-5613 | robert.hoffman@whatiftechnologies.com

Geoff G. Martin, BSc (Geology-Physics-Math), MIM (Marketing-Finance-Trade)

Senior Associate, CESAR

403-861-5169 | geoffgmartin@yahoo.com

Maggie Hanna, BSc (Geology), PGeo

Associate, CESAR

(403) 808-1628 | Maggie.j.hanna@gmail.com | @MagHanna

Energy Systems Analysts

Daya Nhuchhen, PhD (Mechanical Engineering), PEng

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR

(403) 210-9668 | daya.nhuchhen@ucalgary.ca

Madhav Narendran, BSc (Electrical Engineering), BA (Economics)

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR

403-210-9668 | madhavnarendran@gmail.com

Cameron Young, PEng

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR

(403) 210-9668 or (403) 850-3363 (c) | cameron.young@ucalgary.ca

Ashok Kinjarapu, MSc (Civil Engineering), EIT

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR

(403) 210-9668 | ashok.kinjarapu1@ucalgary.ca

Research Leads, Fellows and Assistants

Jessica Lof, MSc

Research Lead-Hydrogen Economy, CESAR

(587) 586-5846 | jessica.lof@ucalgary.ca

Cameron Roberts, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, CESAR and Carleton University

613-520-2600 | johnroberts@cunet.carleton.ca

Mark Stout, MES (Urban Planning), PEng, RPP, BSc (Civil Engineering)

Urban Transport Researcher, CESAR

(587) 429-6275 | mark.stout@ucalgary.ca

Cat MacKinnon, PEng, MSc Student (SEDV program), BSc

Research Assistant (Green Freight Programs Hydrogen Study), CESAR

(403) 210-9668 | catherine.mackinnon@ucalgary.ca

Jonathan Leary, BSc (Eng) Student

Research Assistant (Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Hydrogen Task Force), CESAR

403-210-9668 | jonathan.leary@ucalgary.ca

Research Administration

Lydia Lam, BComm

Research Administrative Assistant, CESAR

(403) 220-4589 | lydia.lam@ucalgary.ca

Communications and External Relations

Benjamin Israel, MS

Research Associate, CESAR

Mark Lowey, BA

Communications Advisor, CESAR

(403) 263-3272 | mlowey@envirolinenews.ca

Graduate Students

Kunbi Adetona, MSc, PAg, PhD (Student)

403-220-4589 | adekunbi.adetona@ucalgary.ca

Abdalla Elnigoumi, BEng (Chemical Engineering), MSc student

825-994-5013 | abdalla.elnigoumi@ucalgary.ca