CESAR's Team

Director, CESAR Initiative

David B. Layzell, PhD, FRSC

Professor and Director, Canadian Energy Systems Analysis Research (CESAR) Initiative, University of Calgary

(403) 220-5161 | (403) 289-9311 | dlayzell@ucalgary.ca

Senior Associates

Ralph Torrie

Senior Associate, CESAR Initiative, and President, Torrie Smith Associates

Song P. Sit, PhD, PEng

Senior Associate, CESAR Initiative, and Principal, GHG Reduction Consultancy

song.sit@ucalgary.ca

Robert Hoffman, MA (Economics)

Senior Associate, CESAR Initiative, and President, whatIf? Technologies Inc.

(613) 232-5613 | robert.hoffman@whatiftechnologies.com

CanESS Modeller

Bastiaan Straatman, PhD

Team Lead, Modelling, CESAR

bastraat@ucalgary.ca

Energy Systems Analysts

Barend Dronkers, PEng, MSc

Team Lead, Electrification and Energy Efficiency, CESAR

(587) 707-2063 | barend@cesarnet.ca

Jenessa Fett, BSc

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR (with Energy and Environment Specialization)

(403) 210-9668 | jlfett@ucalgary.ca

Kyle McElheran, BSc

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR (with Energy and Environment Specialization)

(403) 210-9668 | kjmcelhe@ucalgary.ca

Jessica Lof, MSc

Energy Systems Analyst, CESAR

(587) 586-5846 | jessica.lof@ucalgary.ca

Communications and External Relations

Moe S. Esfahlani, MBA

Government and Industry Relations Manager, CESAR

(403) 220-4589 | esfahlani@ucalgary.ca

Benjamin Israel, MS

Research Associate, CESAR

Mark Lowey, BA

Communications Advisor, CESAR

(403) 263-3272 | mlowey@envirolinenews.ca

Graduate Students

Kunbi Adetona, MSc, PAg, PhD (Student)

403-220-4589 | adekunbi.adetona@ucalgary.ca